When I Had a Little Sister. The Story of a Farming Family Who Never Spoke


When I Had a Little Sister. The Story of a Farming Family Who Never Spoke

Рейтинг: 
On a cold December day in 2013 Catherine Simpson received the phone call she had feared for years. Her little sister Tricia had been found dead in the farmhouse where she, Catherine and their sister Elizabeth were born – and where their family had lived for generations. Tricia was 46 and had been stalked by depression all her life. Yet mental illness was a taboo subject within the family and although love was never lacking, there was a silence at its heart. After Tricia died, Catherine found she had kept a lifetime of diaries. The words in them took her back to a past they had shared, but experienced so differently, and offered a thread to help explore the labyrinth of her sister’s suicide. When I had a Little Sister tells a story of sisters and sacrifice, grief and reclamation, and of the need to speak the unspeakable.
When I Had a Little Sister. The Story of a Farming Family Who Never Spoke
Автор: 
Год издания: 
2020
Издатель: 
ddrug1.png

Похожие книги



Standard Deviation

0
A divinely funny novel about the challenges of a good marriage, the delight and heartache of raising children, and the irresistible temptation to wonder about the path not taken. This sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie Moore ➤ подробнее about Standard Deviation.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Heiny Katherine
Издатель: 
4th Estate
Категория книги: 
Современные книги на английском языке


The Mirror and the Light. RSC Stage Adaptation

0
Hilary Mantel and Ben Miles' exhilarating stage adaptation of The Mirror and the Light, one of 2021's must-see theatrical events, and the long awaited conclusion to the Oliver Award-winning Wolf Hall Trilogy. England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn's fate has been sealed by a hired French executioner ➤ подробнее about The Mirror and the Light. RSC Stage Adaptation.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Mantel Hilary
Miles Ben
Издатель: 
4th Estate


'Mum, What's Wrong with You?' 101 Things Only Mothers of Teenage Girls Know

0
Calling all Mums: Are you feeling lonely and confused? Are you panicking that you're getting everything wrong? Do you feel as if your relationship with your teenage daughter has worsened overnight? Don't worry, you're not alone ➤ подробнее about 'Mum, What's Wrong with You?' 101 Things Only Mothers of Teenage Girls Know.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Candy Lorraine
Издатель: 
4th Estate


Scabby Queen

0
Three days before her fifty-first birthday Clio Campbell – one-hit wonder, political activist, lifelong love and one-night-stand – kills herself in her friend Ruth’s spare bedroom. And, as practical as she is, Ruth doesn’t know what to do ➤ подробнее about Scabby Queen.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Innes Kirstin
Издатель: 
4th Estate
Категория книги: 
Современные книги на английском языке


Where Shall We Run To? A Memoir

0
From one of our greatest living writers, comes a remarkable memoir of a forgotten England. 'The war went. We sang in the playground, "Bikini lagoon, an atom bomb’s boom, and two big explosions." David’s father came back from Burma and didn’t eat rice ➤ подробнее about Where Shall We Run To? A Memoir.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Garner Alan
Издатель: 
4th Estate


Scissors, Paper, Stone

0
A frank and beautiful story of damage, survival and restoration from an exhilarating literary voice. As Charles Redfern lies motionless in hospital, his wife Anne and daughter Charlotte are forced to confront their relationships with him – and with each other ➤ подробнее about Scissors, Paper, Stone.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Day Elizabeth
Издатель: 
4th Estate
Категория книги: 
Современные книги на английском языке