The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz. A Powerful True Story of Hope and Survival


The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz. A Powerful True Story of Hope and Survival

Рейтинг: 
'We felt an urge to document what we had witnessed. If we who had experienced it, I reasoned, did not reveal the bitter truth, people simply would not believe the extent of the Nazis' evil. I wanted to share our life, the events and our struggle to survive.' Thomas Geve was just 15 years old when he was liberated from Buchenwald concentration camp on 11 April 1945. It was the third concentration camp he had survived. Upon arrival at Auschwitz- Birkenau, Thomas was separated from his mother and left to fend for himself in the men's camp of Auschwitz I, at the age of 13. During the 22 months he was imprisoned, he was subjected to, and forced to observe first-hand, the inhumane world of Nazi concentration camps. On his eventual release Thomas felt compelled to capture daily life in the death camps in more than eighty profoundly moving drawings. Infamous scenarios synonymous with this dark period of history were portrayed in poignant but simplistic detail with extraordinary accuracy. Despite the unspeakable events he experienced, Thomas decided to become an active witness and tell the truth about life in the camps. He has spoken to audiences from around the world and continues to raise awareness about the Holocaust. The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz presents a rare living testimony through the eyes of a child who had the unique ability to observe and remember every detail around him and chose to document it all.
The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz. A Powerful True Story of Hope and Survival
Год издания: 
2022
Издатель: 
ddrug1.png

Похожие книги



The Boy Who Saw

0
The electrifying new thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author, Simon Toyne. Only one boy can see the darkness. Only one man can save him from it. A Murder An elderly tailor is found tortured and murdered in the ancient town of Cordes ➤ подробнее about The Boy Who Saw.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Toyne Simon
Издатель: 
HarperCollins


Copperhead

0
The second book in Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series on the American Civil War. Nathanial Starbuck is a Copperhead: a northerner fighting for the rebel South in America’s Civil War. Expelled from the Faulconer Legion, Starbuck must travel a hard road before he can rejoin his comrades ➤ подробнее about Copperhead.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Cornwell Bernard
Издатель: 
HarperCollins
Серия: 
Starbuck Chronicles


The Downing Street Years

0
This first volume of Margaret Thatcher's memoirs, which encompasses the entirety of her career as Prime Minister. Margaret Thatcher was the towering figure of late-twentieth-century British politics. This is the story of her remarkable life in her own words ➤ подробнее about The Downing Street Years.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Thatcher Margaret
Издатель: 
HarperCollins


Sharpe's Fortress

0
India, December 1803 The British army are closing in on enemy troops in western India and Ensign Richard Sharpe, freshly promoted yet unsure of his position, finds himself vulnerable: he's unwelcome among the officers, yet finds hidden enemies within the ranks ➤ подробнее about Sharpe's Fortress.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Cornwell Bernard
Издатель: 
HarperCollins
Серия: 
Sharpe


Feel the Fear

0
Ruby Redfort: supercool secret agent, code-cracker and thirteen-year-old genius The fourth book in the scarily awesome Ruby Redfort series, from former Waterstones Children's Laureate and multi-million-copy bestselling author Lauren Child ➤ подробнее about Feel the Fear.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Child Lauren
Издатель: 
HarperCollins
Категория книги: 
Детские книги на английском языке


The Kashmir Shawl

0
For fans of The Tea-Planter's Wife and Victoria Hislop comes a gripping story of doomed love and secrets in 1940s Kashmir. Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales in 1938 to accompany her missionary husband on a posting to India ➤ подробнее about The Kashmir Shawl.
Издание книги
Автор: 
Thomas Rosie
Издатель: 
HarperCollins